Petronix v. Crane (now FAST) ignition systems

JasonNC
JasonNC Expert Adviser
I have had two Petronix ignitions to go out on me.  The first time the green tape came loose from the wheel and the second time I apparently blew up the Ignitor by switching the car on and off without cranking it while trying to improve the wiring system and checking the results of my work.  I've seen where several of you guys use the Crane IR 700 or 3000 series ignition systems and seem to be happy with them.  I've thought about going back to points, but I actually like the Petronix system better as the one I have on one of my vehicles has worked great for years.  If the Crane is better, then I'm willing to give it a try also.  Any input will be greatly appreciated.  

Comments

• Glowplug
    Glowplug Expert Adviser
    While I am no expert on pertronix ignitions; I discovered that the design used in this ignition is intolerant of voltage changes.  The use of 12 volt alternators without spike surpression will kill these devices.  There are multiple online comments about voltage changes causing these failures.  The crane units, new branding, have input voltage regulators as part of their electronics. 
  • JasonNC
    JasonNC Expert Adviser
    Old Farmer, which Crane ignition would you recommend for a 262 engine with a Twin H carburetor?
  • Glowplug
    Glowplug Expert Adviser
    IR 700 crane which is now a Fast unit
  • GrimGreaser
    GrimGreaser Senior Contributor
    I have a Crane XR-I unit in my 65 Chevy C20. Been very happy with it, I asked Crane Tech about using one of these on a Six cylinder (this GM unit would fit, maybe with a bit of modification - can't remember) they said it would work fine, but the rev limiter setting would be a little off.

http://www.fuelairspark.com/fas/xr-i-points-replacement-ignition-for-gm-applicationshtml/
  • Ol racer
    Ol racer Senior Contributor

FYI