Head light hell

Val
Val Member
Ok here is what I got and think I understand. I'm no electrician by a long shot but I got a known good headlight relay. Installed and wired. No lights. I checked for 6 volts ( power) coming into relay. I have that. What I don't have is 6 volts at the switch side or lights side of the relay. So I checked ground. I took a jumper wire from ground at battery and clipped to base of relay. No dice. But when I manually operate the relay by tapping the coils on it the lights do come on. So long as I hold the contact down. So I seem to be not getting voltage from the light switch or maybe dimmer switch?  Please advise as I'm about to pull the rest of my hair out!!!

Comments

• eddiehudson
    eddiehudson Senior Contributor, Member
    If you tap the output side of the relay with your ground wire, the relay should click and the lights go on. If the relay clicks but the lights don't go on there is an open in the wiring to the lights or the lights are not grounded. Try grounding the wire at the lights to see if you get a click at the relay. You should have two input terminals and two output terminals. One for high beams and one for lows You don't have to ground the relay base to get it to click.
  • Val
    Val Member
    lights come on when I tap relays. zero volts at relay so working backwards i checked the dimmer by jumper wire on power wire and low beam and high beam. still no dice so i put jumper on power wire at dimmer and the other end of jumper to meter. grounded and shows 003 on meter not 6. So, it seems like head light switch. Or wire issue between headlight switch and dimmer switch.   
  • Geoff
    Geoff Senior Contributor