Hello and 53 Hornet 308 wiring fiasco

Hello all ,
Im new to the whole Hudson side of things (I’m also umung the youngest in the Hudson club ) I daily a 65 Ford Falcon and am working on my newly acquired 53 Hornet to get it daily able . 
I’m having a heck of a time getting some of the wiring figured out, i have a wiring diagram and know how to read it; I reverted back to 6v for ease of repairs. 
I replaced the flasher and it won’t flash , it has 6v and is brand new, it will flash 3 times then freeze up and get hot , if you tap it it will work one time.
Hudsonly ,Blake

Comments

• Kdancy
    Kdancy Senior Contributor
    Does your Hudson still have the original cloth covered wiring harness?
  • 50C8DAN
    50C8DAN Senior Contributor
    So your Hornet was converted from 6V to 12V and you have converted back to 6V?  Did it also change from positive ground 6V to negative ground 12V and what did you do with the ground now that you have converted back neg or positive ground?
  • 50SuperFalcon
    50SuperFalcon Member
    edited September 2021
    Was converted to 12 and went back to 6 with original harness and Is pos ground also front running lights don’t blink or light at all , thanks!
  • What type of flasher can are you using?  Make sure front lights are grounded well. On one side of mine I have had to run a seperate wire and ground to body. 
  • @stevepet I’m using a flasher that I got from Napa, there the only ones around here that can get that kind of thing in (that I know of).
  • 50C8DAN
    50C8DAN Senior Contributor
    Not to get too deep in the weeds here but there are a number of issues if you are going back to 6V.  The good news is you kept the original wiring harness that can handle the higher current load with 6V.  However, most likely every light bulb, relay (overdrive?), and possibly gauges have been converted to 12V and will definitely not function correctly on 6V.
  • Kdancy
    Kdancy Senior Contributor
    edited September 2021