'51 Hudson Hornet - Location of circuit breaker?

Hello HET,

I'm stuggling with the electrics of my '51 Hudson Hornet. It seems like all wiring is 95% original and in decent condition, but I still can't get things to work. I'm new to the whole Hudson/USA car scene and am used to German engineering. Items like a circuit breaker and floating inline fuses - never seen those before. 

That being said, I'm looking for the location of the main circuit breaker and all fuse locations for a stock '51 Hornet, preferably with some pictures. I'd like to have everything stock 6V and working again. I have just ordered some SFE-14 fuses, a size not available in Europe. 

The stock cloth wiring lost most of its color during the years, so it's hard to tell what is what, even with a wiring diagram. Being colorblind doesn't help me either, but I''m doing the best I can!

Who can help me and point me in the right direction?

Thanks!
Reinoud

Comments

• Hi Reinoud,  I just replaced the wiring harness in my 51. The circuit breaker is behind the instrument cluster mounted to a metal brace facing up. Lift out the bottom seat cushion and put some padding on the seat frame and crawl in. Removing the radio and glove box makes it easier to get your head up so you can see.
  • Lance
    Lance Member
    If you are looking for a central circuit breaker panel ,you won't find any because there aren't any. As has been pointed out about the only resetable circuit breaker is behind the dash pod on the frame reinforcement brace , Also, if your wiring is origional,   I would very seriously consider getting a new wiring harness either made or making one yourself.   You will save a lot of trouble .Steel stranded wiring over 65 years old is an invitation for problems. Insulation falls off, corrosion and resistance build up and electrical fires can result.