Newbie Introduction

Greetings from Canada, my name is Gord and I am excited to bring my 53 Hudson Hornet back to life however I do have one problem, I am not an experienced mechanic and with this forum I hope to rely on all you experts to solve my problems and give some good advice on what to do. My next post will be asking how to remove my rear axles, oil seals and bearings… Look forward in being a part of the HET Forum

Cheers,

Gord  

Comments

• Welcome Gord, I'm working on a '53 and have all the mechanical procedures, parts, and crash parts manuals. Send me your address and I can copy the Index of Service Operations and send to you, there is a supplement for '53-'54 but nothing added for axle repairs. There are lots of guys here that have helped me out over the last three years, never had a question unanswered, trying to sort all the parts I ended up with, I have a lot of parts left and have sent parts all over the globe to a lot of nice people so you will find this is a great club. Post some pics, looks like a nice ride. If you want, you can send me a private message with your address. Dan.
  • Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    Welcome!  I'm sure you'll find a lot of good advice here.  I don't know what part of Canada you're from, but the Hudson-Essex-Terraplane Club has two chapters in Canada, and there are a good number of Canadian members as well.  So you may be able to locate a real, live, human being-type Hudson owner in your area who could give you help.

Let me first ask you -- is your purpose simply to lubricate the rear wheel bearings and install new oil seals?  Or are you having problems with your axles?

• Kdancy
    Kdancy Senior Contributor
    edited April 2019
    Gord, there probably are some Hudson club members not far from you. Spend a few bucks and join the HET club then get a club roster. It will show most of the club members and their contact info. Members can also locate other members on the official club website, I prefer the roster.