Questions about first Hudson project: 1950 straight six

Hi,

I’m new o the forum and have never owned a classic car before. I’ve come across a good looking 1950 Hudson straight six. My end goal is to chop, channel, and bag it.

1) I want to put a modern engine in it and transmission. What are some good options? Thinking simple reliable 350 small block. No clues on transmission or how to link it all together.

2) do I need to change the electrical? What to?

3). Want to add heat and air, suggestions?

4) she has no door panels or interior roofing, any ideas how to remedy this?

5). I want it to be able to hit 80-100mph. I’m told that requires a new rear end. What’s a good more modern fit?

Now for your disappointment: I will not be doing the work myself, I have no experience and minimal mechanical know how.

I’m also brand new to the forum. Any info, website recommendations, places to look for parts, suggestions and reality checks are VERY welcome.

Thank you all in advance

Comments

• 1954Hudson
    1954Hudson Member
    edited December 2018
    Drive it first to start with if you can
  • Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    Sounds like an ambitious project involving a great deal of money (especially if you're paying someone else to do the work!). As 1954 says....if the car's running, why don't you drive it around first to get an idea what it's like? You might discover that you can "live" with some aspects of the car, then you wouldn't have to update quite so much!

You ask about parts: many of us belong to the Hudson-Essex-Terraplane Club, which is an excellent clearinghouse of technical information and information on parts sources.https://hetclub.org/
  • Cstock said:

Hi,

I’m new o the forum and have never owned a classic car before. I’ve come across a good looking 1950 Hudson straight six. My end goal is to chop, channel, and bag it.