Straight 8 questions

Comments

• I am pretty new with Hudson 8 cylinder engines.

Can someone tell me from around wich year this engine would be? 

And is it hard to find parts for..

The owner says this engine has NASCAR history..?
  • SuperDave
    SuperDave Senior Contributor
    The 8 has no Nascar history. The 308 cubic inch 6 does!  I am sure Someone will look up the casting numbers and answer your question. Overhauling the 8 is very expensive..
  • SuperDave said:
    The 8 has no Nascar history. The 308 cubic inch 6 does!  I am sure Someone will look up the casting numbers and answer your question. Overhauling the 8 is very expensive..
    That is what I thought that the 8 has no Nascar history. Okay good to know this engine would go in a mid 1910 inspired speedster. I have read that there is not really an aftermarket for these engines? 

• looks like it a 37 thru 47 narrow block, whats that on top?  overhauling not cheap, but not any worse than any other old engine 
  • Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    edited August 2017
    Depends upon what you mean by "aftermarket".  If you mean availability of parts, well of course no factory parts are available except in NOS hoards that are uncovered from time to time.  But there are individuals and small companies making certain engine parts and gaskets for the Hudson 8 which was produced (with some variations) from 1930 through 1952.  And as I say, there are a certain number of original parts, still in the box, knocking around out there.