Hello. I am new to Hudson and have a question.

GasWorksGarage
edited March 2017 in HUDSON
 hello, my name is Chester. Can anyone tell me what year and model this Hudson is?

thanks!

Comments

• Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    Chester has already sent me the serial number (I'll withhold that unless he wants to publish it here) which is less that 4000.  This would make it a 1909-10 model "20" roadster.   But the car pictured, is obviously a touring car, which should have a serial number in the 5000-7000 area (roughly).  So, "it is a puzzlement!"

My only thought is that it was once restored from bits and pieces of several Hudsons, and that a "roadster" builder's plate joined parts from a touring car (and maybe others) to create what we see here.

My question: shouldn't a touring car have had a wooden dashboard, and a windshield?
  • Hello,

Jon has been helpful. The only number I can find on the car is 3071 and that is on the engine. No body tag and I cant find anything on the frame. The dash is wood but there isn't a windshield nor a place to attach one.

Thanks
  • I just noticed that there is a plate on the radiator shell that says car # 5829
  • well I found the windshield its made into the top LOL
  • Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    edited March 2017

Interesting. 

Well, first, as to the wood dashboard and windshield, here is a standard 1909-10 touring car that has its dashboard (or cowl) and windshield:

Now, as to the triangular builder's plate...

It appears to be displayed just under the front edge of the front seat cushion.

In the photo below you can just barely see it between the underside of the seat cushion and the top of the aluminum kick plate on the front seat support.   Just to the right of the brass lamp on the cowl.  I don't know if that's the correct place for it, but I'd bet that it ISN'T supposed to be on the radiator.