Rear wheel bearings advice requested

Jon B
Jon B Administrator
I happen to have both rear axles out of my '37, and was thinking that this would be a good time to replace the old bearings with some of the new #25877-T cones (thank you, Paul Largetype!)

The old bearing cups look shiny and new, but should one always install new cups with new cones?

If so, are these #25820 and are they readily available (and if so, where)?

Does a new cup / cone affect the in-out axle clearance, or would it remain essentially the same as what it was with the old bearing?

If necessary to check the clearance, does anyone have a method besides using a dial gauge?  (I'm not an engineer and plus I don't know where to find one!).  Always looking for a handy-dandy shortcut out there...

I'd be grateful for any help on this.

Comments

• bob ward
    bob ward Senior Contributor
    If it were me I would install new cup and cone as a pair and I would check end float whether using the old bearings or the new.
    The cups are available on line, they are used with other cones not just the elusive 25877-T, search Timken #25820 cup.
    Make sure the cones are correctly seated on the axles, think Goldilocks. Too tight and you can crack the inner race, too loose and your carefully set end float will double or triple after you have been around a few corners.
    Dial gauges are cheap and readily available nowadays (gauge and magnetic base $50 or so on Amazon) but 60 years ago when that wasn't the case end float was often set with feeler gauges.
  • Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    Thanks for your thoughts, Bob.  I agree that the play ("float" to you?) should be checked, and the proper shims used.  Dial gauges are a new concept to me.  I can't imagine getting an accurate reading while holding it against the end of the axle, motionless in my hands.