My new purchase... 1952 Hudson Wasp Hollywood...

2»

Comments

• I am now the lucky owner of Monkeyspinners '52 Wasp Hollywood. Loving this thread, some great info on here and i'm hoping to find out some history on this VIN :smiley:
  • Cool car, how far will you go with fixing her up?
  • Not very far for now, I love the patina and just to have it on the road will be enough. Got plenty of time to worry about a full resto. Are there any hudson owners in the uk?
  • If you can get it on the road that would be great. Working with the patina can be fun and it makes the car interesting.
  • this my 52
  • Supercab - Yeah I have never worked with a patina car before so that's an adventure in itself hahaa any tips on keeping it healthy?

52husonman - And what a beautiful car you have! I really think a creamy colour on a '50s american sled works wonders, it radiates '50s luxury automobile! I'm thinking a dark metallic blue would really suite the car...after all, I am a blues kind of guy!
  • One definitely has work within their means on a project like yours. The price of the car plus needed parts to make it a runner at least, compared to potential resale price.
    I can tell you what I've done on old pressed steel motorcycle frames but many will oppose- clean the undersides as best as possible, apply many coats of paint to seal. Strip down to clean metal around the body edges with paint to match, blushing into the larger surfaces. Thin out some matching paint with mineral spirits and blush into the rust for some color. Then coats of satin Rustoleum clear coat. Pretty cheap to do. If you run across someone else's money for a restoration, then of course, disassemble the car completely, strip to bare metal and go from there.