Head Surfacing / Milling

BigSky
BigSky Senior Contributor
I’ve been giving my 37 Hudson’s 6cyl replacement head a surfacing at home by hand on a very flat surface.  So, I’m know ideally one should try to remove all the surface imperfections to achieve a good seal.   However, I’m getting one hell of a workout so I need to ask how much of the surface imperfections are acceptable?  Are there specific areas which are more critical than others?   I’ve been using 120 grit sand paper, is this the right grit to give the correct surface roughness for the head gasket to adhear to?  I’ve heard different gaskets require different surface roughness.  

Comments

• Courtesy Man
    Courtesy Man Expert Adviser
    Hi BigSky _ do I know you ? Anyway I am no expert on your specific questions but am a retired machinist and would make some recommendations. Measure the head at each corner and several spots in middle length for thickness - use a micrometer or good dial indicator that measures to .001 - should not be much variation ( I don't know how much is too much - gasket can only make up for a certain irregularity.) Also with top of block clean, place head on it and see if it rocks side to side - slide a feeler gage in all around until you find the biggest gap - I would start with .003-.005 and hopefully not able to go bigger. I do have a very old speck sheet that may or may not be applicable. It lists checking flatness with straightedge (accurate) and feeler gages : "desirable .003-.005;

serviceable .007 and repair or replace .010. This is a general auto recommendation and not specific to Hudson. So looks to me you have done a fine cosmetic job but unknown how straight it is. Usually the head goes to a shop where it is 
    ground flat. Some one on the forum may also know what thickness is usable and how flat it can go. And if head gaskets wary in thickness.  Did this make any sense. Gert Kristiansen
  • BigSky