Engine Problems on my Hudson Continue

BigSky
BigSky Senior Contributor
I've been fighting for two years trying to get this bleeping engine running right and I’m so freaking frustrated with it I’m about ready to pull it out and drop a V8 in it.  

Times running out for me to make some memories with my youngest daughter’s & get this old coupe working properly before they graduate high school and are gone off to college.  

If anyone can offer up ideas, I’d be grateful.  Here’s a video link of it running this morning & in the latter half you can see the engine shake & jolt & hear it cutting out at higher RPM.  

-1937 Hudson 212ci 6cyl Engine 

https://youtu.be/e0iacvnFAME

Comments

• Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    edited March 2019
    Was this a sudden change, or has it been slowly building up? (That is: did it once run perfectly, then two years ago did it suddenly go south?  Or, did it run well and then gradually get worse over a two year period?  Or did it never run well?)

Have the points and condenser been replaced?

Is the fuel pump running okay?  Is there sediment in the glass bowl, indicating crud may be coming through the lines from the gas tank?  Indeed, is there an inline fuel filter and if so, have you tried replacing that?

Have you checked for a vacuum leak anywhere?

What's the vertical brass tube to the left of the carb - does that go to the vacuum clutch or Electric Hand?

What's the square plate with 4 bolts, visible just the the lower left of the carburetor tag?

• Jay_G
    Jay_G Expert Adviser