1940 Hudson Series 40T Traveler Six Utility Coupe

michelle
michelle Member
edited November 2018 in HUDSON
Dear all,

I'm new in the Hudson family. It ain't my first classic car but it's my first Hudson.
I do need to find some official documentations stating the engine data since the original one seems to have been replaced in my 1940 Hudson Series 40T Traveler Six Utility Coupe.
The VIN number of the car is 4027746 but it seems to have been fitted with a newer Hudson engine from 1947.
I do need to trace and find some official docs to be able to register the car.
Any help and/or hint is warmly welcome.

Michelleimage

Comments

• Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    Greetings, Michelle.

I am not sure what you are looking for. Because your car has a 1947 engine, are you seeking specifications for the 1947 engine? Certainly we can supply that information if you need it.
  • Hi Jon,
    Indeed I am seeking the specs of this 1947 engine.
  • Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    Well, let's see:

Inline L-head six-cylinder. Chrome alloy block. Displacement: 212 CID. Bore and stroke: 3.00" x 5.00". Compression ratio: 6.5:1. Horsepower: 102 @ 4000 RPM. Torque: 168 @ 1200 RPM. Three main bearings. Solid valve lifters. Carburetor: Carter two-barrel WDO type Model 501S.

Will that work?
  • Thanks for the info's. Is there any sort of official source I might mention? The MOT service here in Luxembourg is quite annoying and they won't accept anything without some form of official prove. I have also attached a pic of the engine.image
  • here is a close-up of the serial number

• Ric West IN
    Ric West IN Senior Contributor
    That is not a serial number. Serial number is found on a plate mounted on the passenger side door post/"A"pillar. Your owner manual has all the specs.
  • That's the serial number of the engine (or isn't it?).
    I am aware that VIN number is on the pillar. That one is 4027746 as stated my initial post.