Clutch slipping at higher speeds

JasonNC
JasonNC Expert Adviser
I know I have seen this discussed on this forum before, but I can't recall the exact responses.  On the Interstate my 48 Stepdown has started to "freewheel" or jump out of overdrive at higher speeds.  This doesn't occur while driving around town or at speeds below sixty miles per hour out in the country.  Any of you guys have an idea as to what is causing this?
Thanks

Comments

• onerare39
    onerare39 Expert Adviser, Member
    I haven't driven my 50 in a while but I believe that 2nd and 3rd are supposed to freewheel when in overdrive.
  • Edwardjohnsr
    Edwardjohnsr Expert Adviser
    Jason,
    I'm not an expert on overdrives (or anything else it seems) but it sounds to me like its a problem with the overdrive governor.  At speeds above about 25, contacts in the governor close which activates the overdrive (by way of the solenoid mounted on the cowl).  If the governor can't handle high revs, maybe the contacts don't stay closed which will deactivate the overdrive.  If you can remove the governor and find a way to spin it up to the equivalent of an engine speed of 3 to 4,000 rpm's you could see if there is electrical continuity that quits when it gets up to high revs. If so, then comes the hard part - finding a new governor.  Alternatively you could try to find a new governor first and just replace it.  Only trouble is that could be an expensive way to find out that the governor isn't the problem.

I hope this helps.  By the way, a long time ago I had an electrical problem on the highway that caused the OD to drop out.  It tore up something inside the overdrive and I had to drive home about 75 miles without overdrive.  Back then I was able to find a complete replacement overdrive unit in a local junk yard and I was able to switch it out.  You probably won't find too many Hudsons in your local junk yard now and I hope your problem gets resolved without any such major issues. 

Good luck,
    Ed