Piston End Gap Clearance

ratlee2
ratlee2 Expert Adviser
Forgive my ignorance as I am a rookie engine builder.  I know there are a lot of knowledgable people here, so I''ll ask my stupid questions now regarding the piston rings for my 262 rebore (new 3 ring pistons  and grant rings from Dale Cooper)

1. Piston ring intructions give the end gap clearance for the compression rings but make no mention oil control rings.  Do the rings above and below the expanded-spacer ring also get filed or installed as is since they are really thin?

2.  The intructions for The grant rings state to clock the expanded-spacer ring at the wrist pin and the ring above and below the expanded-spacer ring 1 to 2" to the left and right.  They make no mention of gap placement for the two compression rings.  Would the second ring get gapped 180 degrees from the oil control ring and the first ring back to the same wrist pin location?

Thanks,
Rich

Comments

• Ol racer
    Ol racer Senior Contributor
    Rich,
     I like 3 ring pistons...The oil rings do not get gapped. I clock the Compression Rings left & right but avoid the 'recessad valve relieve area' (so a ring edge dont get caught while sliding thru ring compressor)
     I also dunk the piston in oil before compressing then put pc neopreme hose on rod bolts so dont scratch crank installing.

Be sure the small oil hole on rod is pointing toward cam lobes then oil shell & crank well. Ive always discard the rod pal nuts.
  • Geoff
    Geoff Senior Contributor
    It depends on what gap there is on the ring when inserted in the bore.  Too wide doesn't matter a hoot, but too little can cause scoring and seizing.   Around 9 to 12 thou is fine, but anything smaller you should file the ends.  As ol racer says, put the gaps on the side away from the valves.  Original Hudson  pinned rings of course had the gaps all in a line, and this didn't matter.  
  • ratlee2
    ratlee2 Expert Adviser