1947 hudson drivemaster sedan engine trans swap

Comm6
Comm6 Expert Adviser
 I have a 1947 Hudson drivemaster sedan with the original 212 motor 3 speed drivemaster  transmission. The motor threw a rod and I'm debating on what drive train I could possibly go with without much modification needed. Any input or information is greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    You might want to post this also in the "Street Rods" section, if you're looking for all the transplant possibilities. 

By the way, had you considered simply replacing the rods?  You also might want to consider installing an original-type overdrive transmission, which will allow you to drive at faster speeds (so you don't throw another rod), and of course they'll "plug right in" (you would of course have to find the correct length of drive shaft to go with them).
  • Comm6
    Comm6 Expert Adviser
    Jon B I would love to keep it original I was planning on rebuilding it however it has a huge hole the size of a baseball on the lower side of the block. The parts are also very expensive so I figured upgrading to another drive train I was thinking a ford 390 or 460 with a c6 auto just not sure what would fit or if anyone has attempted this before.
  • Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    Then, too, you might look around for a complete and running 212 engine (but one with an overdrive transmission already attached).  One source might be a street rodder who was transplanting something newer into his car, and selling his old 212. 
  • SuperDave
    SuperDave Senior Contributor

I installed a ford 302 with automatic transmission in a 47. No cutting of the frame or drive shaft. Probably doubled the horse power. Very easy conversion that can be put back to original easily.. A big block? I doubt it.

• Comm6
    Comm6 Expert Adviser