1951 Hudson Hornet 308 Electrical Questions

I'm in the process of attempting to get this car running. It hasn't ran in 30 years. I first want to get the engine to turn over, either by hand wrench or with the starter. Before I do this, I would like to talk to somebody about the 6V battery hook up. If you're interested and comfortable answering some questions, please send me your email address or email me at rumblefish351@aim.com
Thanks.

Comments

• Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    If you don't get a response right away, you could probably just post the questions here and we'll be happy to answer them!
  • Questions in public are good. That's why I check here every day. I'm a Hudson rookie and have been staring at a crusty 308 in my shop every day.
  • Ol racer
    Ol racer Senior Contributor
    edited May 2017
    FYI
    Here is what I do when checking an unknown motor if stuck. Take the sparkplugs out then put pressure onto the fan belt to try to turn the motor over with the fan. If cant turn that way remove the flywheel cover (Automatic) using a pry bar or large screw driver in a tooth on the flywheel then pry the flywheel to turn.

If turns, motor is free then buy a cheap Universal 12 V coil and Ballast Resister to replace the stock 6V Coil then jump over using a 12V Battery in Bat Tray, However, before cranking use fresh gas gravity feed into the carb. (12V on the 6V starter will work if dont crank very long)

However, if you find the motor is 'stuck', you will need to tear it apart. If stuck, usually its the valve guides and/or the pistons.

• Kdancy
    Kdancy Senior Contributor
    edited May 2017