Please Help 48 hudson commodore 6

dad has a 48 hudson commodore best I can tell. He has had it 15 years and it has never been ran. Pulled starter yesterday. The starter misses by 1/8th inch when engaged. The back seat has a strap mounted across it that looks like where they used to hand cuff people. Has driver side spot light. Has yellow bumper lights. What I find strange is it has not fender runners over the head lights. never even had holes for them. Also it has an airline in the trunk. Please bear with me as I am just getting into messing with this car. We have the original title. I am trying to figure out what the serial number is so i can decode it and maybe do some history tracking on the car please help with anything you can thanks. 

Comments

• Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    Welcome on board, Clearwaterhudson!

I'm sure the people on the forum can help you, if you want to ask specific questions.

I don't know where the serial number plate is, in this car, but you could look on the firewall or the passenger's side door jamb, for starters.  The serial number will only tell you what model you have (and you already seem to know this).  Unless you meet someone who knows about this particular car, tracking its past will be very difficult.  It might have originally been owned in your area, so it would be helpful for you to get to know some Hudson enthusiasts in your region. They'll be able to help you with questions, and they'll have similar cars that you can look at. 

I would not advise trying to start the car until you have dropped the oil pan and cleaned out the sludge.  Also, the gas in the tank has probably gone south, or there may be crud in the tank or lines, so you might simply disconnect the gas line where it enters the fuel pump, and then run a rubber hose from the pump to a small can of gasoline, and run the engine off that, temporarily.