[Deleted User]
edited March 2015 in HUDSON

Hi All

I am a vehicle inspector in South Australia although I originally come from Scotland, I arrived in Australia in 1998.

I have just had the pleasure of working on a 1930 Great Eight which belongs to Heidi Hetzer who is driving it around the world and as I needed some info you guys were the obvious choice

Comments

• RL Chilton
    RL Chilton Administrator, Member
    Welcome to the forum robm!  I have made you a full member and you are free to all of the privileges of such.  I'm sure you can get all of your questions answered here.  I'm glad you had the opportunity to help Heidi in her mighty endeavor.  
  • Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    Go ahead, ask your questions!  We will be happy to help!

I'm glad to hear that Heidi has contacted a good mechanic.  I am afraid that many of the mechanics she encountered, were trying to patch the car together using components that were never meant for it.  Like that whole episode with the generator shaft not having a flexible coupling.

As you may know, there is an active Hudson club in Australia and you may be able to obtain good used (or even new) parts without having to send to America for them.,
  • Heidi has been in contact with the Victorian club sourcing replacement wheels as her wooden spokes were failing which I believe have being found and should be sent to her soon Her engine is failing quite bad using 5 liters per day however a new recon engine is being air freighted from Germany to nz as the car just needs to get to sydney for the ship date cannot be changed.
    Go Heidi :-)
  • ESSX28-1
    ESSX28-1 Senior Contributor
    Here in NZ we have an excellent re-builder of wooden spoked wheels. While I don't know current pricing or timing, these could be ascertained easily if wanted.