Blasting and that Stepdown Back Window Glass

pseftoncomcastnet
pseftoncomcastnet Senior Contributor
edited September 2014 in HUDSON
I'm about to take the plunge and have my 1951 Commodore 4 DR media blasted by a pro. The only part of the project that gives me pause is the rear window. If I bust it taking it out, are there any replacement options besides finding a used one somewhere on the internet. Conversely, could it stay on the car if well protected? I plan to take out the interior and instrument panel, as well as the other glass and windshields.

Peter S.

Comments

• SkyDad
    SkyDad Member
    edited September 2014
    I am no pro in this area, but I look at it this way. The window has already lasted 63 years. I think if you are going to spend the time and money having it media blasted, wouldn't you love knowing that process includes every possible inch of your ride. The pro would most likely have been in similar situations, and I would hope/believe could use extreme caution and remove it safely. Yes, replacement glass is always an option and I'm sure the Hudson gang here could give you many options should you need a new window. Personally, I say, "Go For It!" Take your time and get an extra set of hands.
  • Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    Yeah, you want them to blast in and around the flange that holds the window rubber; it might be rusting down there.  That goes for the windshield too.