Hydro problem

Lee ODell
Lee ODell Senior Contributor
edited September 2014 in HUDSON
I had the engine changed in my 52 Hornet and now the 4 speed auto works ok in 1st 2nd and fourth. But slips right through third. The trans worked perfectly prior to engine change. Walt told me to remove the top nut on rod to trans and rod should move toward trans about 3/4" but rod does not move down, internal problem. It has been suggested that something broke inside trans during removal that maybe outside lever hit or got cought on something.

Any suggestion on repair needed. All tune up adjustments made, twin h carbs balanced, rod to trans adjusted. What inside the trans needs repair.
I sure would like to have it fixed to drive to the All Calif. Meet on Thursday.

Lee O'Dell

Comments

• Lee ODell
    Found out that the trans was not removed from the car during engine change. Lee
  • Ol racer
    Ol racer Senior Contributor

Im not an expert, but he may have meant try adjusting the Rod from the Side Cover up to the Carb linkage. That Rod has an adjustable clevis to control shifting. Ive found if disconnected or adjusted too far back the shifts will be quick and soft.
  • Lee ODell
    I disconnected the linkage and tried moving the long lever on the trans and it binds up and sometimes will not move. Is that something that can be fixed in the car or does the Hydro have to come out for repairs.
    Lee O'Dell
  • Ol racer
    Ol racer Senior Contributor
    Lee,
    I removed the side cover on a Hydro I installed in a '46 Pickup. It depends on your chassis. If you remove the two link Arms & the Cover you may find the problem. Probably need to remove the floor board to observe. I had a similar problem that I resolved inside the cover. (I think the shaft was slipping in a spline, but dont recall yrs later).
  • Lee ODell